Easter Road, Edinburgh, Scotland
Hibernian Football Club (Edinburgh, Scotland) was founded in 1875 and moved to Easter Road in 1880. The current ground on Albion Road has been in existence since 1892.
Hibs’ Easter Road Stadium was traditionally known as “The Holy Ground” but has also been known affectionately as the “Leith San Siro” in more recent times.
The North (Famous Five) and South (Whyte and Mackay) stands were rebuilt in 1995 and the West (Main) stand was rebuilt in 2001 making the current capacity around 17,500. It is expected that Hibs will rebuild the East Stand within the next year.
The Famous Five and other information
The largest attendance recorded at a Hibernian FC game at Easter Road is 65,860 against Heart of Midlothian Football Club (Hearts/HOMFC) on 2 January 1950. This record still stands as the largest football crowd ever seen in Edinburgh. At that time the stadium had large terraces round three sides of the ground as can be seen in the picture at the top of the page. The main stand in the picture stood until 2001.
Hibs unique forward line from the Fifties, The Famous Five not only gave the new North Stand its name but were the best known Hibs players of all time and perhaps the most influential group of players Scotland has known. Read more about The Famous Five.