Jun 16

RangersThe SPL Fixtures for 2008/2009 came out today as expected.  Amazingly, they’re not as bad as they usually are.

However, Rangers have already started complaining about next season, months before a ball is even kicked.  According to the Evening Times, “Rangers fans chief Jim Templeton today reacted with fury as the SPL unveiled the fixtures for the new 2008/2009 season.”

What is his “fury” about?  They have 3 away games out of the first four in the season.  Let me repeat that, 3 out of four, not 3 in a row.  Rangers play Falkirk away, then Hearts at home, then Aberdeen away, then Celtic away.  That’s two away games in a row and he thinks it’s a conspiracy.  Where do they find these guys?  I know the self styled Hibs fans leaders tend to be jumped up officious little men too but this guy really takes the Jaffa Cake.  It’s almost worth reading the article as you can just imagine the small minded bigot getting really angry in an Ian Paisley style over this perceived injustice,  veins popping out his blood engorged head because they have to play two away games in a row.

Actually if you take it further, Rangers have 3 away games out of their first six games.  To me, from moaning the way they are, it sounds like they’ve given up before the league has started, and no wonder with the negative team Walter Smith is continuing to build.

They appear to be the only team in the league who are making a big hoo-ha about the SPL fixtures this year.  Could it be that for the first time the SPL has not simply given the Old Firm the best fixtures?  They’re simply not used to not being pandered to.

It seems, from trawling the message boards etc. that all teams seem to have some minor gripe.  That’s to be expected, not everyone is going to have a perfect fixture list.  For Hibs, we get a derby at New Year for the first time in ages but yet again, it’s away from home.  But that’s a minor complaint compared to the nonsense we’ve endured over the last few seasons.  Kilmarnock and Inverness over the festive period, no New Year derby, playing teams three times away from home etc.

Here are the fixtures for the Hibs Fans cribbage tournament which takes place before league games:

Sat 9th Aug … Away v Errshur Killie

Sat 16th Aug … Home v Bairns

Sat 23rd Aug … Away v Caley Fistle

Sat 30th Aug … Home v ‘Well

Sat 13th Sept … Home v Arabs

Sat 20th Sept … Away v Accies

Sat 27th Sept … Home v Huns

Sat 4th Oct … Away v Dons

Sat 18th Oct … Home v Gunts

Sat 25th Oct … Away v SDB’s

Sat 1st Nov … Away v St Midden

Sat 8th Nov … Home v Caley Fistle

Wed 12th Nov … Away v Arabs

Sat 15th Nov … Home v Dons

Sat 22nd Nov … Away v ‘Well

Sat 29th Nov … Away v Bairns

Sat 6th Dec … Home v SDB’s

Sat 13th Dec … Home v Accies

Sat 20th Dec … Away v Huns

Sat 27th Dec … Home v Errshur Killie

Sat 3rd Jan … Away v Gunts

Sat 17th Jan … Home v St Midden

Sat 24th Jan … Away v SDB’s

Sat 31st Jan … Home v ‘Well

Sat 14th Feb … Away v Errshur Killie

Sat 21st Feb … Away v Caley Fistle

Sat 28th Feb … Home v Bairns

Wed 4th Mar … Away v Accies

Sat 14th Mar … Home v Gunts

Sat 21st Mar … Home v Dons

Sat 4th Apr … Away v Arabs

Sat 11th Apr … Away v St Midden

Sat 18th Apr … Home v Huns


11 Responses to “Rangers fans moan about SPL fixtures”

  1. TRUEBLUE Says:

    ERM NEGATIVE TEAMS RANGERS ARE BUILDING MILLER LAIKES TO ATTACK Andrius Velicka AS WELL NOW THERES NEWS THAT RANGERS HAVE SIGNED LAFFERTY AS WELL AND UVE GOT THE CHEEK TO SAY WHERE DO THEY GET THESE GUYS FROM WHO HAS HIBS SIGNED ????? WHAT DID HIBS WIN LAST SEASON ??????WHERE DID HIBS FINISH IN THE LEAGUE LAST YR ?????? DO U GET MY POINT M8 OTHER WARDS PLEASE STOP WORRYING ABOUT WHAT RANGERS DO AND WORRY ABOUT YOUR OWN MOB NO WONDER YOULL ALWAYS BE ALONG WITH THE REST OF THE DREGS OF THE SPL A SMALL TEAM AND IF U LEARN TO READ IT ALSO SAID THAT RANGERS HAD AWAY GAMES IN THE EUROPEAN CUP AS WELL BUT HEY WHAT WOULD U LOT KNOW ABOUT THAT

  2. TRUEBLUE Says:

    OHH MENT TO SAY YOUR A TOSSER

  3. James Says:

    Totally accurate story, they have started whinging about everything now. that sort of mentality is never going to win you anything, I remember the days when supporters ‘support’.

    your fixture list is missing celtic ;)

  4. rich Says:

    Hun – Thanks for your input. Pretty much what I’d expect.

    James – Thanks. SDBs BTW :-)

  5. TRUEBLUE Says:

    rich…… bigot ….you another one that doesnt like the truth

  6. TRUEBLUE Says:

    cry me a river

  7. rich Says:

    Spammed by a Hun, FFS ;-)

    What’s the truth then? It’s only a small minority of fans who sing bigoted songs? And it was English fans who rioted in Manchester? I think we all know who can’t handle the truth.

  8. Billy Says:

    i just think its a bit harsh that we should have to play aberdeen away then a 10 million pound campions league qualifier (could be any where) and then ceptic at the san giro.

  9. rich Says:

    So the rest of the league should have to bend over backwards to accommodate every European game Rangers play? Hardly seems fair.

    Dry your eyes and get on with it.

  10. Discount bodybuilding supplements Says:

    I agree with Rich. Rangers fans are crybabies.

  11. No surrender Says:

    Rangers are the champions we won more games than celtic call them selfs team! :-D

Leave a Reply